American Society for Aesthetics

The American Society for Aesthetics was founded in 1942 to promote study, research, discussion, and publication in aesthetics. “Aesthetics,” in this connection, is understood to include all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism, and education. “The arts” include the visual arts, literature, music, and theater arts.

The ASA publishes the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, the ASA Newsletter, and this web site. Both publications are free to members. The Society also meets annually in the fall and its regional divisions in the spring.

Secretary-Treasurer Search

The ASA calls for nominations and applications for the position of Secretary-Treasurer of the Society for a term beginning in 2016.

Contact Information

American Society for Aesthetics
c/o Dabney Townsend
P.O. Box 915
Pooler GA 31322

Secretary-Treasurer <>

Membership Information

Membership is open to all interested persons. Members receive print and electronic subscriptions to the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism and the ASA Newsletter. To join the Society, pay dues on-line or download a printable dues form.

Current members may receive an electronic membership directory by requesting it from Secretary-Treasurer <>. This directory is only available to members. It is copyrighted by the ASA and recipients are asked not to publish or share it with non-members.

Current member dues rates are $35 for students and the unemployed, $56 for emeritus memners, $70 for regular members, and $105 for joint members (two members at one address). Overseas members pay $15 plus a small mailing surcharge in addition to the above rates.

Charitable Contributions

The ASA is organized under the laws of Ohio as a corporation not for profit. As such it has been ruled as exempt from Federal income tax by the United States Treasury Department, as an organization operated exclusively for educational purposes. Contributions, gifts, and bequests to the Society are deductible on Federal income tax returns.

Officers and Trustees

President: Dominic McIver Lopes, University of British Columbia (2015)
Vice President: Cynthia Freeland, University of Houston (2015)
Past President: Paul Guyer, University of Pennsylvania (2015)
Secretary-Treasurer: Dabney Townsend, Armstrong Atlantic University

Peg Brand, IUPUI (2017)
Ted Gracyk, Minnesota State University ex officio (2018)
James Hamilton, Kansas State University (2015)
James Harold, Mount Holyoke College (2016)
Gary Iseminger, Carleton College (2017)
Jennifer Judkins, UCLA, (2015)
Robert Stecker, Central Michigan University ex officio (2018)
Kathleen Stock, University of Sussex (2015)
Sarah Worth, Furman University (2016)
Rachel Zuckert, Northwestern University (2017)

Bylaws and Minutes of the Board of Trustees

Bylaws of the ASA

2012 minutes
2011 minutes
2009 minutes